Grand Central in B&W

by chrisgiuliano

Main Concourse

Clock

Up The Ramp

Walking Up The Ramp

In Between Trains

The Waiters

Clock II

East Restrooms

Downstairs

Chandelier

The Ticketing Machine

There are two things in photography that I don’t do a lot of: digital and Black & White. Today, in an unexpected (well, not really) turn of events, I decided to do both. Inspired by a scene in Louis CK’s show, “Louie”, I headed to Grand Central to shoot some black & white photos of the afternoon in the terminal. The main reason I shot digital was because it’s a lot easier to shoot street style with a digital camera, as today I was hoping to shoot people a bit more, and it doesn’t take me so long to compose a photo like it does with my 35mm camera. Anyway, I really like these shots, and Grand Central as a whole, even though it doesn’t compare to the old Penn Station. I really liked the feeling of Grand Central, too. It reminded me a lot of 30th St. Station in Philly, which is a bit more familiar to me. These stations, both takes on Classical architectural styles, have a lot more of a laid back feeling than does the new Penn Station, which I think may be the most poorly designed modern train station for a big city. Grand Central and 30th St make you enjoy traveling a lot more than Penn does.

Enjoy these photos, and expect to see a few more rolls of film posted before Christmas. I’m currently working through two rolls in two separate cameras.

Chris

