24 Inches of Powder

by chrisgiuliano

This week’s forecast for the whole Northeast called for Snow, and man was it right! Here’s a quick little recap of the events of the weekend:

When I woke up on Saturday morning, the ground was covered in 2-3″ of snow. This alone would have been enough to satisfy me, but I guess God was in a good mood, as He was about to send much more. I went out with my Dad to his office and picked up some things, and when we got back, we had our driveway plowed. Then, I had my friend Nick over, and we went hiking up to Stoney Mountain. By this time, there was at least 6″ on the ground. We went back home, and took our brothers out to the mountain for some sledding, which was really fun. I finally came home, and kept track of the snow all night, and just about every hour I checked there were 2 or 3″ of fresh powder. Finally, I went to bed just after our power went out. The next morning, I woke up (with the power back on) and found that there was more snow than I had expected. I went outside with my Dad, and walked through knee deep snow to get some shots of the yard. I then helped my Dad shovel the snow out from around our truck, which took quite a while. We then measured how deep the snow was, and found it to be 24″ deep. I spent the majority of the rest of the day playing around in the snow, until I saw the sun pop out and hit the snow. It was definitely one of the most incredible displays of colors, shapes and shadows that I have ever seen.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoyed my photos and story. Look for some photos next weekend of Christmas and possibly snowboarding! Thanks again.

Chris

